LilySlim Weight loss tickers

Friday, December 30, 2011

First Day of Winter


Picture was taken by Me, Kay, Boxing day 2011
 So I was coming home the day after Christmas when everyone else was out there trying to out-shop each other, I was at work. The someone freaked out because it was snowing. I could not believe it! It didn't snow on Christmas and then boxing day?? I was mortified.  Anways, I tried not to panic, like I usually do when stuff like this happen and I finished worked.  Then I had to go outside.  This first picture was taking at about five forty five in the evening. 

The streetlights were all on, and there was fog everywhere. I didn't get it. It was so early and already it was getting dark. That's another thing I hate about winter aside from the cold--we all lose daylight.  But anywtays, this was taken and I found myself snappy-happy and taking more pictures. As I walked home,  I was stunned at home cold it had gotte. I mean it was freezing before but boxing day was like a freezer.



Taken by Kay, Boxing day 2011


Sunday, December 25, 2011

Christmas is HERE!!!


Taken December 21, by Kay
 Some of my favorite Christmas Movies::

Trading Places - Eddie Murphy, Dan Akroyd, Jamie Lee Curtis

Home Alone (1, 2, 3)

Robin Hood: Men in Tights: Carey Elwes, Isaac Hayes, Dave Chappelle

A Christmas Carol (1951): Alistair Simm

Sound of Music: Christopher Plumber & Julie Andrews









Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Migrain and chocolate

Every time I look that countdown on the side of this blog is giving me heart palpitations. 

Anyways, so after six weeks of not having chocolate, my mom said that I shouldn't just completely cut it out. She said once in a while, like ONCE IN A WHILE I can eat just a bit of chocolate. Not OVERDO it but just a bit. So, I ate one of those Bailey's filled chocolate candy. You know the delicious ones with the baileys in the middle?  Oh good heavens who told me to do that? I had the migraine from hell after.

I was in so much pain! I had to close my eyes, turn off all the lights, TV, Computer, Cell phone and pull the drapes to block out the light. My head was pounding something horrible. At first I thought it was because I hadn't had enough water and I drank a bottle of water through my trip with my mom to the mall, and went into Bath and Body Works, the Body Shop and Crabtree and Evelyn....the smells were so strong and it was because of the headache because normally I live in the first two of those stores.  But I was agitated and in pain and my mom kept saying "you're no fun. You can't shop."

My reply was "I hate malls...I've always HATED malls. I don't do crowds."  I really do hate malls. That is why my xmas shopping was done a MONTH ago. Crowds make me mad, they crash into you--go out of their way to bounce into you. I mean I was standing under the arch of the Santa Planet and this chick still bounced into me. I mean I was UNDER the arch...*sigh* anyways....that's my vent.

Kay

Friday, December 16, 2011

Today's the Day!

Before my good news.  Some bad news--fell off the wagon the other day--well not completely.  But at work, the evening one (that ended yesterday)...so they ordered us food. They asked what kind of pizza we wanted and though I ordered the veggie pizza.  No meat or anything but I probably shouldn't have eaten two slices.

So this morning, I woke up but I was tired I went back to sleep for an extra five minutes.  Then, when I was able to peel myself out of bed, I waddled, eyes closed, hair standing straight up I felt my way to the bathroom, closed the door, open the cupboard and pulled out the scale.  Taking a breath, I stood on it, held that breath and prayed.  After a while, I looked down and Tadaa!! After six weeks of Zumba at 1am in the morning, I've lost five pounds...FIVE pounds!  It doesn't look like I lost it to me but the scale, I checked it on two different ones!!

And I bought this coat last christmas for the winter, but when it came it wasn't warm enough so I wore it at the beginning of winter. It's a grey coat that was supposed to overlap and button up.  I could BARELY get it to overlap. Yesterday, I found it in my closet because anything does in that place goes into a void. Technically I hid it because I didn't like the way I looked in it. My bulges sticking out every where. So I came across the coat. Fear gripped me but I took a breath and slipped it on.  When it wrapped around me I couldn't help flailing and screaming and doing a zumba chop, and pelvic thrusting...I'm so glad there was no one there to video tape it.   When I got dressed in it and came down the stairs to show my mom at about one AM this morning, her eyes bulged it was awesome!

Also I love these black pants and they fit but were so tight I couldn't bend over in them or it would be ripped. They were THAT tight. Yesterday I couldn't help but bend over to show my mom just how well they fit now. And this morning I speed walk across the parking lot and I wasn't winded.  This is a little victory for me--I am very proud and happy I started this journey, though sometimes I feel like I'm torturing myself.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Doomsday and food!

December 16, will make one month since I start all of this. Sure my blogs doesn't reflect that but the blog idea didn't come until well after. So I have to weigh myself on December 16th.  I get butterflies every time I think about it. Even now as I write this I'm light headed.  But it has to be done. I think my greatest acheivement was when I started and weighed myself. I was shocked. I knew it would be bad but DAYUM!


Anyways so that's what December 16th is.  I know I lost some inches and people said they see a difference in my face. I personally don't see it but as long as someone is seeing it I will keep at it. My clothes are fitting better. Jeans that were tight around the hips are now a loose. I tested it, by machine washing them and toss them into the dryer to shrink and as soon as they came out I tossed them on.  They are still loose.  A shirt I bought thinking it would fit but couldn't get my arms through, now I can actually get my arms through the sleeves but they are tight so that's something.


It's getting easier for me to do Zumba now without huffing and puffing right away so that's good. I'm almost at Zumba Exhilerate! It looks good too! I am now going back and forth between Ripped and Activate. I HATE activate, it feels like excercise. Except the last like twenty minutes when we do Cumbia! lol. But it has to be done before I can go to the next.


Now for food.


Grapefruit Salmon w/Broccoli and Couscous and Sauted Tomato



This was so easy to make. Let me tell you what you what you need.

Ingredients
Half grapefruit
Broccoli
Salmon slices
Couscous
mixed vegetables
Tomato
Garlic
Extra Virgin Olive Oil

How to Prepare Salmon
  • In a bowl, wash the salmon pieces in lemon water (you can also use vinegar).
  • Put your non-stick skillet on (I know but we use this for everything). Add a little extra virgin olive oil
  • Sprinke your Salmon the black pepper (ground pepper) and let them sit.
  • Crush or beat your garlic and once the oil is hot, add your garlic.
  • Add your salmon pieces (gently).  You want your salmon to get a nice brown colour on both sides.
  • Then get a foil tin (you know those ones you buy at the dollar store for family get togethers?) and once your salmon has had a chance to get a nice colour on both sides, place them in the foil tin - or a deep baking tin and sprinkle with a little more ground pepper before adding your grapefruit juice. You don't need a lot of the grapefuit juice. Just the juice from a half. Squeeze it in a bowl first and remove any major pulp or seeds before using.
  • Preheat oven at 350 and then put it in. After about ten minutes it should be finished.

While you wait for your salmon to soak it he grapefuit juice and cook on the inside, you must make your couscous. It doesn't take long to make so if you want it to be hot when you're eating don't start it until well into the cooking of your salmon. 

I like my couscous to have some colour so I added some frozen mixed vegetables.  So in a small put, add water, about a cup of water along with your frozen vegetable because you you want these to thaw and get soft.  Wait about two minutes after the pot begins to boil. 

  • Once its boiling for a little bit, ad 1/4 cup couscous, stirr it and turn the stove off. Leave the pot on the hot burner and just let it sit there and soak up the water.
While this is happening you want to sautee your tomato, you don't have to add oil to your skillet. Just let it hot and toss the chunks of tomato in. Move them around so they don't burn or stick. After a couple of minutes you're ready to eat.


Friday, December 2, 2011

Recipe: Avocado Wrap w/ Lean ground beef and Spinach

 Avocado Wrap w/ Lean ground beef and Spinach

Ingredients:

2 cups LEAN ground beef
Half Red Pepper (sliced in chunks)
Spinach
One medium sized tomato
One tbsp Olive Oil (preferred extra virgin)
Two pegs from an avocado
Ground Pepper
Goat Cheese
1 small whole wheat tortilla

How to make:
First, rince your ground beef off in cold water. You can add a little lime juice to the water.  Then let it sit for a bit in a strainer to drain.

In a non stick Skillet, add the olive oil and spin the pot so it coats the bottom somewhat.  When heated, add ground beef.  Be careful it doesn't burn, so keep moving the meat around in the pot with a plastic spatula.

**Never use metal in a non stick pot
**Lean ground beef tends to generate a lot of water. If you find this is the case, use a strainer to get rid of the excess water.

Once you're sure the ground beef is cook, add your peppers and tomato. From time to time stir this to make everything mix in.

**If you find it is getting too dry, you can add about three tbsp of water

Next, add your spinach at the top. Do not stir it yet. Let the spinach cook from the heat and once that happens, stir it in.

Add pepper.

On top of all that, add your goat cheese. Do NOT mix it in. Just let it melt with the heat on top and turn the stove off.




In a bowl, add your two pegs of avocado. Using a cork you want to smoosh it so that it looks like a spread. Once that's done, get your small whole wheat tortilla and lay it on a dry surface. You want to coat your tortilla with the avocado.

Add some of your ground beef and roll it like they do in the diners.  To keep it rolled before you eat it, use a tooth pick to hold it in place.

Add a little of your ground beef on the side of your plate and voila!


This can serve as a dinner or lunch.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

A Zumba Routine I can Get behind!

So I was at work feeling all ick and wanted to move...so I went to youtube and searched! Look what I found!

Monday, November 28, 2011

Stretches

Today is my rest day from Zumba. I will be doing these http://www.workoutbox.com/exercises/stretching-exercises/ to stretch out all my muscles. This way I dont feel all guilty and stuff...

More to come later with pics and vids

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Today - Officially Rest Day!

Today, according to the Zumba guide, is rest day, but because I will be working 15 hour day tomorrow, I did the Ripped DVD for 40 minutes today.  Tomorrow I will rest because heaven knows after the length of my day, I'll need the rest. 

But the ripped DVD is more fun, and actually dancing and amazing music so I did it and then did some Cumbia from the step by step.

I may do some stretching tonight, just to get my muscles to relax, and a couple of sit ups just because I would like to do something before bed to make me sleep.

Before I move to food for today...I have pictures and a couple of SHORT vids for dinner from last night of my Cooked Vegetable Salad with Browned Salmon! It was delish!

Food today, is my bran cereal with 1% milk and a few blue berries tossed in. Now I know Bran cereal isn't the best tasting things in the world, but it's an acquired taste.  So, add some blue berries or black berries or strawberries or any kid of berries. My mom adds pieces of apple of banana to hers but I prefer berries. So I had that for breakfast.

For lunch, I had a Almond Goat Cheese Salad.  It had Lettuce, tomato, almonds (cut in half) with a couple of sprinklings of goat cheese. I added a spoon of my Fic Balsamic dressing and yummerz! Anyways, I will be having the same salmon for dinner tonight. It was good and I have left overs.



My deliciouso salad!

Shrimp Salad

Steamed Vegetable Salad
 Videos to come
And remember, you are fabulous!

Kay

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Zumba Day 2

Yesterday I didn't get to do my Zumba at a regular hour like a regular person because I worked some reall cray cray hours. So at 1:30 AM, that's right folks one in the f-ing morning I was up, setting up my Zumba. While it loaded I planned my eats for the next day, grabbed a bottle of water and planted myself at the foot of my bed because the living room was being used. So I did the Step by Step because according to the Zumba Program guide, I had to do the step by step twice before I can move on to something else. Even though it was late and I was tired I got some Cumbia, Belly Dancing in. Then I did the warm up section from ripped. By the time I was done I was pooped but it was so worth it!

Ok according to the program guide, I am on the Beginner's Plan. When you're doing Zumba, Days one and two you have to do the step by step. I would recommend going by that.  Day three, do the Zumba Activate but not just any part of that. Do the LEARN IT part. Day four, is a rest day but I am thinking of going swimming to stretch out my muscles or just go for a hour long walk if its not freezing out.  Day five do the Zumba Activate - LEARN IT again and on day six, do the Zumba Activate - FEEL IT.  So that's the plan. So my day one was Thursday. My day two was Friday and my day three is today. My day four will tomorrow (sunday) so no Zumba tomorrow, which is probably for the best because my body ache. So instead of dancing, I still want to get some work out in so I'm going to walk before work if its nice or go swimming after work.  On Monday, that will be my day five and Tuesday will be my day six.

I'm not sure if I'm going to redo week one or just move on to week two with involves the Exhilerate and Ripped DVDs. The ripped I know what to expect but am kinda nervous to do a DVD called Exhilerate. Not sure I'm ready for week two that they call "Super Sculpting Plan" yet. 

Anyways, this morning, tight on time, I did fifteen minutes of the step by step DVD to warm up and twenty minutes of the Activate DVD. I still have another 20 minutes of that DVD to do.

Onward to food....I have another video but it needs to be formatted its another recipe nothing major lol.  Tonight I am planning on making Salmon, with vegetables for dinner. I will try and have a video or pictures to load my next entry. I am hoping it will be yummy. 

And remember! You are Fabulous!

Hugs,
Kay

Friday, November 25, 2011

Zumba Hang over!

Zumba...The morning after...

This morning I opened my eyes and thought "I got hit by a bus!" Every muscle in my body ached. I tried getting out of bed and had to roll out. Which isn't bad because when I played baseball back in the day, for the first few practises I felt like this...all achy and stuff. If you're not aching after your first few times, you're not doing it right.

So I rolled out of bed and couldn't dress myself. I gritted my teeth, held my breath and showered, barely dried myself and got dressed. Isn'ti t great? I haven't done it yet today because I went to bed at 2AM. Woke up at six thirty, have to leave at 7AM to get to work for 8AM. Then I work 15 hours and then go home. Once I go home, I am going to take half an hour and do maybe the Cumbia portion of the step by step DVD. This way I get some work out in because I start later tomorrow so I can sleep a little bit so working out late is not that bad. It would have been ideal to do it after work or before I leave in the morning to get the energy but life doesn't always work the way you want it. So, make lemonade lol.

Foodie Vidoes

I decided to take some video. I'm not sure I am any good but oh well. Trial and error baby! The beginnings of the new Kay! (this post is from a few days ago. I couldn't get the video to load until today.) Before I do that though I have GREAT NEWS! I got ma ZUMBA!!! *shakes booty* It came while I was making breakfast today!! Express mail RULES!!!

Anyways, I am going to be loading a couple more vidoes to this blog aside from the one below. But the morning I had my Eggs with Attitude breakfast.

Ingredients:
1 Egg
Half sweet pepper (mix your red with yellow and green peppers)
Half of a tomato
1 sausage
A little milk
A Splash of Extra Virgin Olive Oil






Have to cut these in two because my card is not big enough to hold the whole thing in one go...



Thursday, November 24, 2011

ZUMBA!!

So yesterday I got Zumba in the mail. And I couldn’t WAIT to start it. I kept telling my friend Ty how I was excited to be shaking ma booty. So, this morning with my heart racing with fear, I did it! Today, I did Zumba for the first time.

If you don’t have a DVD player, or like me who has one but for some reason it doesn’t work with your TV, use your lap top. Clear a space in your living room and let er rip! I did mine with my TV on mute and cranked my laptop’s volume. I did the step by step one seriously and half of the ripped before I was so exhausted. But it’s not a bad kind of exhausted. It’s omg I just did Zumba exhausted...a omg I just danced! Exhausted.

To get through the step by step takes 55 minutes and it’s not start and stop. You get to pick through salsa, meringue, calypso, Reggae-ton, Cumbia (my favorite) and belly dancing!! I did all of them because I was so excited! The DVD, gives you step by step instructions and each move, the instructors give you a chance to modify the moves to fit your body or to fit your style. They even make it even more fun by allowing you to add your little twist or attitude to stuff. If you don’t get at first, don’t worry, you can muddle through then go back and try again. You can watch the moves forward or use the things on the screen to turn the instructors around so you can see the moves from the back!

The music is original and fun! The beats just make you want to dance!

The Ripped DVD, have you using the toning sticks and just shaking it, moving your hips, gyrating, air-guitaring...it’s a blast.

Do this before breakfast on your days off. If you’re like me with a work schedule all over the place, you’re going to have to pick your days. I do it before I have breakfast on my day off. Why? Because then my stomach is empty and there’s no food in there to hold you down. I get a glass of water and put it down and sip from it to keep myself hydrated. Don’t drink too much or else you will get cramps.

On your first day, don’t over do it. I did half an hour hardcore. Then I toned it down a little before switching to the ripped DVD. The ripped one is a lot more of what you did in the first DVD just a little faster. But don’t do that until you learn the step by step.

You’re going to be so happy once you get through the step by step DVD. Doing the Ripped one will make you feel sexy, happy you’re dancing! It’s so much fun!

How I felt afterward?

I felt as if I had accomplished something. My muscles ached but I don’t care because I was up and being active. Everything is step by step so it’s Kay proof lol.

Afterward, you don’t want to fall into the same patter like you normally do...work out for an hour then eat junk. So for breakfast I had bran cereal, with a half of grapefruit.

Ingredients:
2/3 cup of cereal (bran)
½ grapefruit
½ cup 1% Milk

And that’s breakfast!

And remember...you are fabulous!

Hugs,
Kay

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Dinner

And finally for that day, dinner. I didn't want to make this complicated. But I wanted something fast and healthy. So, I stopped by the grocery store and grabbed some veggies, I used beans, green, red and yellow peppers for mine and at the end I dropped some spinach leaves in. But you can use brocolli if you'd like or egg plants...hrm...there's an idea...

But anyways, I got a non-stick frying pot and drizzle the bottom with virgin olive oil. Add the veggies that are harder to cook first and just let them go on cooking. NOT fry, cook. If you see it getting too dry, add a little more olive oil. Don't add any water at all.  Water will only ruin the flavours and the last thing you want is a healthy meal with no taste, right.


Ok so for meat I chose to use chicken. In my grocery store they had pieces of chicken packaged for stirr fry.  I grabbed a couple of those. One is enough but I cooked two so that I could take the rest to work the next day for lunch. So anyways, get the pieces, and wash them in vinegar water. Just a little vinegar goes a long way at taking the rawness away from the chicken.

Please make sure you wash the chicken. This cut down on your chances of getting food poisoning.  Season it by sprinkling some salt and ground pepper. That's all you really need.


Once you have your veggies tender, add your chicken pieces. Let it sit at the bottom of the fryer for a while so it can soak through then turn them. Add olive oil so it remains moist.

Be sure the chicken soaks through because you can still get sick if it's only half cooked.

When its almost finished, add a bit of soy sauce, a little salt and pepper and voila!

Chicken is easy enough to cook and doesnt take that long, especially if it is in small pieces.  This was more than one meal, so that night I had dinner from it and lunch the next day so that helped a lot by cutting downon the work load lol.





Ready to eat!


Lunch

Because you're stuck at the evil day job, doesn't mean you cant have a fun, healthy lunch. Planning, again. Anyways, for lunch on the first day, I decided to take a pic of each stage of my lunch preparation.

I got a few leaves of lettuce. It all depends on what lettuce you like. And a tomatoe. Make sure you wash them. Always soak your veggies in cold water for a few minutes before using them then rinse them in fresh water and let them drain. This should help to get rid of some of the stuff the spray on them before you bought them in order to preserve them--make them last longer.

Anyways, just make enough for one person. This way you just make enough so you don't over eat. Yes, it is possible to over eat on the good stuff too. Too much of a good thing and all that jazz. For me, I added tomato, lettuce and cheese. I am ADDICTED to cheese so I settled for just a small piece, just to add a little something extra to the lettuce and give it a bit of colour aside from green and red.

Once the salad is made, get your favorite dressing -  one table spoon full. For me its Fig Balsamic. This one is made by Kraft with extra virgine olive oil.  Drizzle it all over your salad. If you have it in a container you can cover, then cover it and shake it so the dressing gets distributed, otherwise use your fork and mix it up a little before you eat it.

With my salad, I had a half of cup of orange juice. You shouldn't cut out ALL juices, just the bad one...and never over indulge on them.

Ready to be eaten
Salad Dressing

Breakfast

Blackberries
So on the first day when I started my whole eating healthy thing, I started out with a breakfast I just came up with the night before. I know, I am supposed to plan so the night before I sat down with a pen and notepadd and did just that.

I'd shopped for healthy things before now all I had to do was put it all together into meals that will sustaine me for the day.

Breakfast shouldn't be heavy. After all it is the first and most important meal of the day. Try having something that will sustaine you, give you energy, give you a push to begin your day on a positive note. Blackberries are yummy and they are dark in colour so they give you some good sugar.

I love blackberries because I love sweets and since I can't do chocolate and all that other sweet stuff, I try to find other healthy things that give me some good sugar. Blackberries can be used for juice or just drop a few on top of your cereal.

Measure everything. If you're like me and you don't trust yourself to eye-ball things, measure it. According to the bran cereal box, you're supposed to eat 2/3 cups of cereal, with 1/4 cup 2% milk.

But that milk isn't nearly enough for all that cereal. So, I have 2/3 cups cereal with with 1/2 cup 1% milk. Sure its not the best tasting milk in the world but its not that bad. As a matter of fact, once you add your favorite fruits (like strawberries etc) you won't even taste the milk. This is still a pretty hearty meal.




The breakfast you have with half of a grapefruit -- if its a large one.

Hugs,
Kay

The Middle of a Full week!

So I started this healthy eating thing with hopes of losing weight. But I never thought I would get more energy from it. Lately I've been working 14 hour days and let me tell you these days are LONG. But last night, I was at my second job and I didn't feel like napping half way through. Maybe it's because I eat on a schedule or maybe its because I'm eating more healthy goods and less junk but whatever it is? I like it a lot!

So this is the middle of the second week. I have pictures to load but like I said, 14 hour days dont leave much time to do much of anything. I have the camera at work with me but I dont have the connection cord *sigh* Anyways, so eat health stuff.

I don't feel skinnier lol but it's only been a week and I haven't started my working out portion of it yet. I'm still waiting for my hip hop abs and Zumba in the mail.  I also have the weight watchers calculator and kit on its way to me too so it'll be a while. Still I'm going to eat healthy until I get all those things. My next post will have pics, I swear...I have pictures of the delicious salad I had today. It had lettuce, tomato, and almonds with this wonderful dressing my mom found at the store.  It's made by Kraft called "Fig Balsamic." It is a dark colour and doesn't look quite apetizing but it's delicious. It's made with Extra Virgin Olive oil that's better for you anyways.  Try it. I also have pics of the bottle coming too. 

For breakfast I had a slice of Websters 12 grain bread with Nutella, half cup of milk and an apple with a half of grapefuit. It doesn't sound like much but when you sit all day at work you don't want to eat too much to sit around and upset your stomach right? And besides this is healthy to eat for breakfast.

For lunch, I had that salad I told you about with a table spoon of the dressing. And for dinner I am going to be having a weight watchers chicken meal..I dont remember which one and I'm at work so I can't really get up and go check. But I believe that one is 210 calories and I'll be having that with a half of grapefuit and some water.  If I'm going to snack, I prolly will have a third piece of grapefuit.

For tomorrow, dinner is going to be something with a chicken breast since I have the morning off and can make dinner. I don't have to bring one of the weight watchers ones but I have to eat healthy. So I am thinking of getting a chicken breast, slicing it open and stuffing it with almonds, goat cheese and spinage. Hrm...maybe I'll quit the goat cheese as well.  But I will probably have it with a weight watchers buscuit and vegetables on the side. 

Remember, PLAN your meals. I find this helps with over eating or just eating anything. This way you have a better chance of sticking with the plan.

Tip 1:
Cut out soda and fizzie drinks. They are no good for you and loaded with sugar. Even diet ones.  I was listening to the John Tesh radio show last night and did you know, that even the diet sodas are bad for you? They may not have half the junk and caffiene as the regular ones but they may have MORE sugar and other things to make up for what was taken out to make it diet. So, when you are first starting to attempt losing weight, get rid of these from your diet.

And before I go, always remember; you are fabulous. You are BEAST!

Kay

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Losing Weight - What I've Learnt so far

So, I am trying to lose weight for what seem to be the millionth time. Before everything was so much to do and remember and after either half starving, over eating, not eating enough of what you're supposed to eat, not working out enough etc.  And even though I can't afford a lot of things right now, I NEED to lose the weight.  As a reward, if I lose twenty pounds by my bday June of 2012, I give myself permission to go on a vacation. I won't be able to wear one of those string bikinis nor do I wish to be THAT skinny, but it will be EPIC. So because I want to go to Costa Rica or La Romana, I am going to fight as hell to get this done.

So here are the things I've learnt so far.

  1. First, do your research.  I was going to try Dr. Bernstein but I found out some stuff that just turned me off.  First the current price (as of Nov 2011) is $150 a week or $600 a month. You get to eat 500-800 calories which I know cannot be healthy because then you will lose nutrients to your bones or other vital organs. You you have to go see them three times a week for weight-ins, a urine tests and a series of injections.  INJECTIONS- yes I wrote that correctly. This is because as I said before eating so little calories is not healthy so they have to find some way of making all that missing nurtrients up.  Do not let someone inject you with stuff just to lose weight. It may be harder to do it any other way but do no introduce foreign stuff to your body.  Weight Watchers - is also quite expensive for me at the moment but they are better because they have their products in most local grocery stores. You can buy their dinners, bagels, breads and a whole host of other things. If money is tight for you, check ebay. There are TONS of people selling their food calculator and kits. Even if you don't get the calculator or kits, you can do this on your own too. Eat only what is on the Weight Watcher's box. Don't eat two of the meals! Eat just one. I had vegetable lasagne the other night and its 280 calories but so filling and yummy! I was shocked at how good the thing tasted.


    Use Google, it's there for a reason. Google what foods are healthy and there are plenty of free sites to help you know the portion to eat. If you want portion use your mind and think...what portion should be healthy but not too much.
  2. Make a plan - I have a plan. Every night I go home, I plan what I am going to eat the next day based on what I know is healthy (fruits, vegetables, a certain kind of cereal, water) and set those aside.  So last night I planned for today. I shared out my cereal and placed in an airtight container (because I have to rush out in the mornings and eat breakfast once I get to work), I served my milk out in a water bottle, put out what fruits I'll be bringing and stick my dinner in the standing freezer in my house because that way I'll remember it being there. 


    When you're going grocery shopping, make a shopping list. If the food isn't on the list, don't buy it.  Make a list of fruits that will last you the week and know how to spread them out...don't just buy one fruit...For my first shopping--I bought Blackberries (that I drop a few on top of my bran cereal), apples and grapefuit (which helps with the weight loss process). This way, I can alternate. So, buy what is on your list that you know will not let you over-eat.
  3. Work Out -  This videos you see on television - not all of them are BS. Some of them actually works. But I cannot tell you which because, well, I haven't gotten mine in the mail yet. If you're like me and don't have the funds, check ebay. Now don't just work out willy nilly--because if you don't enjoy what you're doing, you will quit. Find something that interest you that gets you active and do it for about half an hour a day.  Me, I love dancing. I love culture so what better way to get both those in that ZUMBA! I bought hip hop Abs (because I was a nerd and didn't remember Zumba because I was gung-ho on starting, and then today I was watching a commercial for Zumba and palmed my forehead going "of course!"  Zumba is amazing from what I've seen so far because it's dancing and it's fun. If you don't like dancing you will have to find what is better for you but I LOVE dancing and culture so Zumba is perfect. It doesn't just start you out and say "go!" it teaches you and then builds up to the wild crazy dance parties you see in the commercials. So find what works for you and if it's too expensive to buy from their commercials or in stores, try ebay. There is someone who is out there who got it for XMAS and want to unload it for some reason.  (but be careful though...ensure you read everything first. If you're in Canada and order something outside of Canada see if they force you to bay the border taxes first...just read everything).


    And if you dont have much time for work-outs (like me right now after working 15 hour days) then do little things. Take the stairs instead of the elevator if you're on the fourth or third floors...If you're higher, climb as far as you can then take an elevator. Park away from your store and walk to the actual store. Go to the grocery store closer to your house just so you can walk there if you only have to pick up a few things.  Dance around the kitchen while you're cooking, go swimming every day for an hour (you don't have to do laps but be active). Go to the mall and walk for two hours or something...little things, right?  In the summer go for a walk, do it by the lake if you can.
  4. Drink your 8 glasses - I know, it sounds like much. But if you get a 1 litre water bottle, you only have to drink one a half (roughly) to make the eight glasses. And you don't have to chug a glass of water every two hours or something stupid like that. Take the water bottle, leave it on your desk and sip from it throughout the day.  You have up till midnight to get all 8 glasses in so take your time, pace yourself.  You may have to go the bathroom more but that's normal for drinking so much water.
  5. There's No shame in doing it Alone - I don't have anyone to work out with. But I can't let that get in the way of me losing the pounds.  I do it alone. When I walk, I get awesome, heart pumping, shake ya booty music. Am talking Pitbul, MBLAQ, David Guette, Tiesto, Kelly Roland...am talking STRUT by Adam Lambert and when that song comes on, girrrrrl I put in my most BEAST catwalk and strut down the street not caring who's watching. Have fun with weight loss - that's what I'm going to do. Because if you make it depress you, you won't lose the pounds.
     
  6. Be Healthy - Fruits, vegetables, water. Don't drink those sodas or overly sweat juices. Those you really don't need. They are just fun to have. Drink water instead of the pop. Drink one of those vitamin waters instead of juice. Sure it's probably not the best for you but it's better than soda. You really don't need juice but if you have to drink it, drink cranberry, V8--substitute things that you don't need for the things you need.  Chocolate bars, cut those out. We really don't need them. Sure they are delicious but we need to lose the pounds. Don't buy them--don't put them on your list, don't buy them.
  7. Reward yourself - My reward is a trip after 20 lbs. Don't reward yourself a can of pop, junk food etc...Reward yourself with a trip to the movies with frozen yogurt for your snack. Do healthy rewards.
And so far that is what I have learnt. Here's hoping it all works.  remember, you are fabulous. You are BEAST!

Hugs,
Kay