LilySlim Weight loss tickers

Monday, February 27, 2012

Sprucing up Bran Flakes!

Bran flakes for breakfast isn't anyone's idea of a kick ass breakfast. But it's good for you. So I thought I'd add different things to make it pretty and make me actually want to eat it.


This, my friends, is a strawberry...a very big, juicy, yummy, strawberry. Yes, I LOVE strawberries. I used to go picking with my mother on a regular basis, am talking every year. And I think I ate more while we're picking than we actually took home lol.  Anyways, so yes, this is a strawberry.


Cut up some and dump them in with your cereal. Then add your milk. Then you can add a couple more strawberries to on the side but its really yummy.

Hugs,
Kay






Friday, February 24, 2012

Putting the Pieces together

Last night I got home and didn't feel like cooking but I didn't have a choice.  I was procrastinating on going grocery shopping. Eventually I went to to get some food. Bought mostly veggies and stuff so here's what I made. Before I go any further, my father made some chicken and there was some rice cooked in the fridge from the day before.  So I had to put some things together to make my dinner. And make it healthy.


Start out with tomato. You want them to cook out as much as possible. So put in a little olive oil, make it hot then dd your tomato while you prep everything else. Don't forget to move the tomato around on in the pot with a plastic spatula so you don't scratch the bottom.  You can also add garlic after a while to the tomato. But anyways when the prepping is finished and your tomato is soft, Cut up your green, red and orange peppers and add them.


I got bored with broccoli so I substitute it with Brussels sprouts. They are like small cabbages. Anyways, so cut those in four (depending on how large or small they are you may want to cut them in two or more pieces for easy cooking). Wash them (always wash your fruits and veggies) and dump them in to the cooking.  Get a little water -- about a quarter cup and add that, mix your food around then cover the pot.


Next is you're going to get some spinach, cut off the stalks so you only have the leaves. Wash them and once the brussels sprouts are cooked, toss your spinach in and cover it.

After about ten minutes (or when you think the water may have dried out) open it, mix it together and sprinkle some black (ground) pepper in. Not too much to kill the food but enough to taste since we're not using salt.  Turn the stove down, mix it again and cover the pot. After about two minutes, turn the stove off and plate.


Here's the finished product. I added a half of cup of the cooked rice that was already there. That I warmed in the microwave. The chicken was still hot from my dad making it so I added a piece of that with my steamed veggies.  


This is my complete dinner. I had it with tea (Mint and lemon). Yes the china beside the tea pot is real, English Bone China. I got it for xmas from a friend. Isn't it beautiful? Anyways, enjoy!

Hugs,
Kay

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Weigh in!

I know this is a few days late but I am down 12 pounds in total now!!! For the next two weeks, I am going to TRY and go vegetarian. I will only eat Fish and veggies. I wonder what will happen??

Hugs,
Kay

Sunday, February 12, 2012

The Other Things

Since I started this blog, all I've been talking about has been weight.  But there are so many other things I need to do to Take back Kay. Ok, for example, I am educated but in this economy I need more. So in order to be a little more well rounded, I'd like to dipp into some of the other things that I need to do in order to make my life truly mine. 

 I could talk about dating--but let's face it, I have no idea how to do that because apparently I've been doing it wrong all these years. It would make me a gi-nourmous hypocrite. So until I figure out how to tackle the dating things--I'll stick with what I know. I'm going back to school. I figured I could sit at my dead end job and complain, driving my blood pressure through the roof, or I could get off my ass and hammer it out through another two years learning a trade and getting out there.

So in order to make my way to a well rounded me, I'm back in school.  Do not make this decision lightly. Look into everything. If you were like me and spent a year working a crappy job and job hunting with no success then maybe you should go back. But take everything into consideration. Make sure you plan this out as well--what schools have your program? What program do you want to go into? Do you have the requirements? Where would you get the money for tuition and books? How will you get to school? What about clothes and shoes and school supplies?  Research the field you want to get into.

Make a budget, research the schools that you wish to go to. Go and visit them if you have to. Check out the graduation dates, due dates. Go to orientation once you get in. Get a little notebook and write down everything. I know, it may sound like a lot. But create a 'to do' list of all the things you need to do. If you are in Ontario, and you're just going to college you must apply through OCAS. This gives you a way to do everything online and this way you probably won't have to worry about keeping everything straight because it gives you step by step instructions. You don't need a credit card but can pay through your bank.

There's another step!

Hugs,
Kay

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Zumba anyone?

It is REALLY hard to find any of these stuff on youtube but I did manage to find this. If you do this a couple of times you should have a nice work out.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Dirty Dancing Work-Out

Come On ladies, we wanna be sexy and we want to feel sexy. That's the whole point of us trying to get our body right.  So here's something I cound that should help with that.

Monday, February 6, 2012

Some Need to know Gym Stuff

We all know we hate going to the gym. Sure we are motivated to work out but being around other sweaty people in a closed off environment is not the best of situations on any day.  So I've figured out a few tips and tricks to make going to the gym and doing a lil somethin' somethin' a little easier on you.

Set a goal - Before starting your work out process, weight yourself then set a goal. Don't say "I want to lose twenty pounds in a week" let's face it, unless you starve yourself and live at the gym, that's not possible. Not only is it not possible, it is not healthy. If you said "I want to lose five pounds in a week" alright, that is plausible. Set a realistic goal.

Make a plan - Like everything else in life, you should make a plan. Make a meal plan, work out plan, water drinknig plan, breaking the healthy eating plan (I HATE the word diet). Don't call it a diet because then you feel pressure and give up. So make a plan and stick to it.

Time - Don't go to the gym at a certain time because everyone else is going. I mean, if you're like me and love as much privacy as possible while you're getting all sweaty and booti-fied, you won't get much done with everyone and their uncles there.  Pick a time of the day where you feel motivated. For me, its before class mostly, or right before lunch time. Some of us can only go to the gym at certain times because we have kids, or school or work or other stuff that takes up our days. So find a time where you fell is best for you and go.

Dress for success - Similiar to the way you wouldn't show up at a job interview dressed in a tights and tank to, you wouldn't go to the gym wearing just about anything.  You don't go to the gym to look cute and us girls should really know, guys don't go to the gym to pick up cute girls.  I was at the gym today and saw this girl wearing jeans and a tshirt that said "Prada" on the front. I mean what in the hell? How do you work out in jeans? I mean sure they look good and they make your butt look good but they are not conducive to a gym environment and the material doesn't breath as well as track pants or tights.  Dress properly for the gym. Get a pair of running shoes that you only wear to the gym. Do not wear your gym shoes outdoors.  Get a couple of track pants (if you live in Canada then get a long one for the winter and a short one for the summer).  Get tops you are comfortable in. Try not to wear anything too baggy because the last thing you need to do is have your clothes caught in the machines.

Do what your body can endure - Dispite popular belief, if you lift too much or do too many reps you can hurt yourself. Especially if you are not experienced in the gym department. Take your time and do what your body can handle. Do not over do it. It is better to take more days to lose the weight, that try doing it all in one or two days and pull a muscle, break a bone etc. So take it easy...give yourself more time.

Going with a friend -It is best to go with a friend. Let's face facts, we all love having company. We love having that person to compete with, to talk to and to chill with. But we all must remember, if you're going to go with a friend, go with someone who's motivating. Do not go with someone who wants to see you fail or negative.  Negative people burden you so don't go with one. Sometimes, you'll just have to bite the bullet and go alone. Do not break your plan because if you do you will not meet your goal. So, if your friends don't want to go, go alone.

Know your Equipment - If you do not know how to use the equipment, ask a gym attendant. Take the tour before you start using the gym. Every gym has one where they teach you how to use everything and to show you where everything is.  Use this time and get to know your attendants and equipment.

Take a break - Do not believe the myth that you have to GO GO GO GO like a drill sargeant is on your ass.  Work out six days a week and give your body that seventh day to rest. Do Zumba (my workout of choice) one day, gym the next day, zumba the next...alternate. Give your poor muscles a little bit of a break. If you miss a day, do not double up your work out the next day. Continue as normal and that seventh day you would take a rest, use it to make up your missed day. Don't freak out and burden your muscles. Your body will make you pay for it.


Music - Work it with music. The right kind of music makes it all better.  The right kind of music makes the workout fly by. Forget feeling the burn! Shake your ass to the best beats. Don't use depressing music. Find your favorite jump up/party music, plug it into your ipod and jam away while you climb that hill.

My Favorite Feel the Burn Jams
  1. Almost anything from Chris Brown's "FAME". Pretty much all his fast beat songs make you wanna work.
  2. Return of the Mack - Mark Morrison
  3. Mr. Saxobeat - Alexandra Stan
  4. The Little Things - Danny Elfman (WANTED soundtrack)
  5. For Your Entertainment - Adam Lambert
  6. Fireball - Willow Smith and Nicki Minaj
  7. Flip Reverse - Jang Woo Hyuk
  8. Fever - Adam Lambert
  9. Dirty Talk - Wynter Gordyn
  10. Don't Stop Dancing - Mathew Morrison
  11. Don't Trust Me - 3OH3!
  12. Dirty King - The Clicks
  13. Brand New Bitch - Anjulie
  14. Breaking Dishes - Rihanna
  15. Bad - Tablo f/Taeyang
  16. Chammak Challo - Akon or The Cast of Ra.One
  17. Hit Me Up - Danny Fernandes f/Josh Ramsay
  18. International Love - Pitbul f/Chris Brown
  19. Let's Make a Movie - Danny Fernandes
  20. Need You Tonight - INXS
  21. Tick Tock - Busy Signal
  22. What Doesn't Kill You - Kelly Clarkeson
  23. Mona Lisa- MBLAQ
  24. Whip My Hair- Willow Smith
  25. Shakin' It for Daddy - Robin Thicke f/Nicki Minaj
  26. Rain Man- Jang Woo Hyuk (A Man Called God OST)
  27. Oh Yeah - MBLAQ
That is just some of the songs from my ipod play list called "Feel Da Burnnnnnnn" I have eighty nine songs on that list. When I'm at the gym, I put it on shuffle and just let it go. So use these tips and let me know how it works for you.

Hugs,
Kay

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

The Gym

So on Tuesday I finally made it to the gym. Didn't do Zumba on this day because, well, after doing the treadmill for half an hour, walking the indoor track, doing some other ski looking thing for another ten minutes, rowing for twenty minutes, I kinda didn't want to do anything else.  Anyways, I enjoyed the gym and since it's not going to cost me extra money why not use it, right?


On Sunday night I went to teh restaurant. Couldn't get junk food so I got a chicken cesar salad. So there's proof you don't have to have junk. The salad dressing was on the side but I did have a good amount of it. But it didn't matter because I worked it all off after anyways.

I finally had to do Zumba Rush. It's twenty minutes of insanity man...I'm telling you its fast, it's like GO GO GO GO! MOVE EET! MOVE EET! lol

But I got through it, spun around on one heel and hit the ground. I lay there, staring at the ceiling thinking "What in the world am I doing to myself?" but whene I got to school I had so much energy. I was ready to face my day. And I wasn't cranky at all lol.  but seriously, I cheated and looked at how much I've lost and so far it's ten pounds. So two pounds since my last weigh in. I'm going to try and see if I can lose three more pounds by my next weigh in. That's a healthy goal right?

Friday, January 20, 2012

Spectacular Broccoli and Shrimp

I wasn't feeling like eating anything heavy last night. So I pulled out my trusted non-stick skillet and went to work.

The first thing you do is set the skillet on, add a little extra virgin olive oil. Then when that's hot, add pieces of ginger (cut REALLY thinly and small), garlic, onions and tomato.  You want this not to be completely cooked out but soft enough so the flavours are in the oil

Then you're going to cut up your broccoli, green peppers, red peppers, wash them and dump them in. Do not add any water or anything like that. Simply cover the pot and let it steam. The broccoli won't take very long to steam if you cover the pot. 

The video below will tell you what to do but next you need some cooked, frozen shrimps. Those you're going to wash under hot water in a strainer. 




This is a glass of orange juice.  Why is it in a wine glass? Because we have to make weight loss fun! Just because we're eating healthy, it doesn't mean it has to be boring! Make it fun--put your juice in a wine glass! Why not?


To finish up your meal, you add a sprinkling of ground pepper for taste since, again, we're not using salt at all. And this is the final product. 


Thursday, January 19, 2012

Wanton Soup


The day after my weigh in, I stopped at the bank and went into the grocery store for milk--that's all I went in for. But wandering around the grocery store I walked up to the freezer where they keep the Weight Wacthers meals and saw they were on sale!! Normally, they are $3.79 plus tax. Today, they were $1.99 plus tax. I picked up six. No, I didn't have any for dinner I simply tossed them into the freezer because there will be a time when I come home and just dont feel like cooking or come home a little later than I expected that kind of thing and insted of going to unhealthy stuff, I'll just pop one into the microwave. 

Also, I bought some shrimp wantons from Authentic Asia: Charoen Pokphand. I wasn't sure how they would taste or how filling they would be but 120 calories--can't lose right? Anyways so I came home, rocked out to some Zumba Exhilerate and then took out my Wanton with shrimps. Now it didn't say I should add anything but to be fancy and a little colourful, I added some frozen vegetables. This one is easy to make and it takes about two and a half minutes to four minutes to be ready. So you open the container *its microwaveable*

Add water, lightly cover it, not fully, just perhaps half of the container covered and stick it in the microwave. I had to put mine in for five minutes because I wasn't sure if it was done the first time. I poked the wantons with a fork but they were stil a little hard so five minutes it was. Though the pack says to put it in for two and a half to three minutes. That makes no sense especially if it was in the freezer for a while, right?


A Shrimp stuffed wanton!


And Tadaa!! Dinner. I drank some water because I didn't have enough all day. This bottle made up my last three cups for the day. The soup and I had it with toast. I didn't put anything on it but it was whole wheat toaste. And dinner is served.

Hugs,
Kay

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

January 16th - Weigh In Day

Update! On January 16th I had my weigh in., Every month on the 16th is my weigh in date. I lost four pounds since December 16th until now. I'm so glad I lost at least a few pounds because December . So now I'm down eight pounds! SCORE!

Sunday, January 15, 2012

A little Encouragement

Somtimes, it is easy to fall off the wagon. So from time to time I'm going to post little things for encouragement! Today, it's a music video!



When I bought the Zumba disks, it came with a program guide. I quickly lost the guide and created my own schedule. So for the past four weeks I was alternating between Zumba Activate and Zumba Ripped--Activate gives cardio and Ripped gives toning. I haven't done the Zumba Sentao yet because quite frankly I don't have the space in my living room for that. So, I thought it was time to start revving it up right--so I started alternating between Ripped and Exhilerate. Then one day I missed Exhilerate because school and snow day and irritation and all that stuff so I decided the day after to do Ripped and then for the next two days I'd do Exhilerate. 

Now, Exhilerate is hard--that's why it's the third disk in. It's also quite long. It has salsa, reggaeton, calypson, belly-dancing, cumbia, merenge, hip-hop, swing, flamenco, there's a little bit of bollywood thrown in there (you don't really notice unless you know bollywood steps) and I think I'm missing a few. Once you've done it a few times you will love it but dang it goes fast. The best part of Exhilerate is that it has a cool down period at the end where it forces you to stretch your muscles...DO NOT SKIP THIS PART. This is where your muscle gets a chance to slowly slow down because after doing all the dance types above, you need that cool down period.
So for the last three days I've been doing Exhilerate because tomorrow is weight in day. But I have been enjoying doing Exhilerate because I get to shake what ma momma gave me lol. But starting tomorrow its going back to alternating between ripped and Exhilerate.

Try not to miss days. Because when you missed days you can't just pick up where you missed because if you're like me it throws off the whole thing. So now I'm caught up...well I over did the exhilerate but who cares! It was fun!

For breakfast this morning, I had one of those Silhoutte yogurts (blueberry) along with a half of orange, a cup of water and a handful of grapes.  Why such a small breakfast? Well the night before I had dinner late--not because I wanted to but because I was working and didn't really plan like i should have.  But I had a small dinner, and then because I was eating soon after breakfast, I didn't want to bog my system down with a whole bunch of carbs to go sit in the office. So the small breakfast was my way of doing my part to help me stay awake.

Anyways, I have to go get some writing done and find a way to remain sane until work is over.

hugs,
Kay

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Impromptu Dinner

Coming home from a long, boring, irritating day of work there was nothing at home to eat. I hadn't really had time to really go grocery shopping. A few days before, my friend and I stopped at a store to grab some stuff.  I got some whole wheat tortillas (the small ones), some pasta stuff and a few other stuff that I needed like shampoo and conditioner. I came home, stood in front of the fridge for like five minutes staring in before I thought "et Voila!"




In your non-stick skillet, add a little olive oil, abou one table spoon or two.  Then when its nice and hot, throw in your broccili, onions, tomatoe and let those cook for a bit. Then you can add pieces of ham.


Then you need to get about an egg and crack it into a bowl. Add some milk. Not a whole lot.  Then sprinkle some ground pepper in it. Beat the ingredients together witha fork.


Add the beaten eggs with your broccoli, tomato, onions and ham. This is in essence scrambled eggs with a little something extra. Let it sit on the fire for a bit and set before turning it or mixing it all in.


On a DRY plate, lay out a small tortilla. My diet book says I'm supposed to eat two of these but who can eat two of these? Anyways if you're doing more workout than I am then you might want to eat two of them because you just burn the calories anyways but if you're just doing zumba and the stairs then just wat one.  Add a little ranch dressing (you can also use guacamole).


Then, added the scrambled eggs mixture.


Roll the tortilla, and put the rest on the side of the plate. And see? Done and dinner in about twenty minutes.  And there, dinner is served. You can have this with a little juice.